Hints and Tips about Microsoft Dynamics CRM and related products. 
 
This is information is provided for general guidance only. Some features and functions may not be available to you depending on your user security role, system configuration or licence type. 
 
Always ensure you have a backup available when making changes to the system and if in any doubt ask your internal support or CRM Dynamics for assistance. 
 
These FAQ's generally are quick overviews - if you would like more detail or need some support/guidance please give us a call on 01908 929555. You will also find that most of these examples are taken from our training courses. 
 

Posts tagged “Data Quality”

Calculated fields let you automate otherwise manual calculations and display the results in fields on Forms, Views and in Charts. 
 
For example, a sales person may want to know their expected commission based on the estimated revenue of an opportunity, or you may want to calculate a delivery charge based on the order value. 
Connection Roles allow you to link virtually any record type to another. They have been around for many releases and have not really changed much during that time. 
 
However, they are not often used as they are not as intuitive as other areas of the system. 
If when you reassign an Account/Contact/Case record all activities are also reassigned you may need to change some settings on your system. 
 
For example, when you change the owner of an Account or Contact, the default behaviour is that completed tasks, emails and phone calls will also change owner. This typically is not the desired outcome when we reassign an entity. Ideally we want ONLY the open tasks, emails, phone calls etc to be reassigned. 
 
This behaviour can be changed with a couple of straightforward changes to the system. 
Microsoft Dynamics CRM / 365 uses a concept of Active and Inactive records throughout the application, and it applies to records in most entities. Most entities (but not all) provide the option to deactivate records. 
From time to time you may find duplicates within your database and want to merge them - without losing any data.